Julia’s Boeuf Bourguinon

13 Sep

Like This!

Who doesn’t know Julia Child?

Julia Child and Meryl Streep as Julia Child (Image from MyWoddenSpoon.com)

Well, I have to admit my admiration for Julia came as a result of my obsession for Meryl Streep. I didn’t grow up in the United States, nor did I grow up in a household that experimented with interesting cuisines other than Latin America/Caribbean ones. I grew up surrounded by recipes and talk about who I have come to identify as Puerto Rico’s Julia Child– Carmen Valdejuli, in terms of their meaning to household cooks in their country, that is. I have a hard time picturing Valdejuli putting pieces of omelette back into a pan after spilling some on the counter.

Therefore, it wasn’t until the movie Julie & Julia was released that I became acquainted with the vibrant and amazingly likable American chef, Julia Child.

It has been about a year since I watched the movie and after rummaging online for Julia’s famous Boeuf Bourguinon recipe — yes, I still haven’t gotten her masterpiece Mastering the Art of French Cooking. Hint, hint: perhaps someone has a used copy they don’t want anymore?and a trip to Marshall’s where we finally found an “affordable” Le Creuset dutch oven, I was able to enjoy one of Julia’s most cooked recipes.

Let me just add that this wasn’t my first attempt at making Boeuf Bourguinon. I remember trying to make this dish a few years back when I was still a student in college. I was back home on break from school and wanted to cook a special dinner for my family.

Well, it didn’t go that well. I didn’t have a dutch oven, nor did I know what this was so, I used a turkey roasting pan instead. Bad idea. Lesson: don’t try this recipe unless you can get your hands on a dutch oven, even if it’s just for about 4 hours.

Yes, besides the dutch oven you will need about 4 hours total for this dish. If you’re like me and come home famished after work, it is better to cook the dish the night before actually having it for dinner. It takes only 10 minutes to reheat it on the stove and about 30 to boil the potatoes– if you decide on them as a side dish. You can also serve this dish with rice, mashed potatoes, pasta or just bread.

You can find Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguinon recipe here, courtesy of Random House, Inc./ Knopf.

Julia Child's Boeuf Bourguinon

I boiled some potatoes, peeled them and then drizzled them with olive oil and sprinkled Kosher salt, pepper and chopped parsley on them. Even though we already had carbs on the plate, I added a small egg bread roll.

Of course, we had to have wine with this dinner. Same wine I used for cooking. 🙂

My Julia Child Boeuf Bourguinon was delicious! It was worth the wait and perfect for entertaining in the future.

Note: I received notice of the demise of my Le Creuset dutch oven shortly after writing this post. 😦

I can only hope to be one of the lucky winners of The Pioneer Woman’s giveaway of three Le Creuset 7 1/2-Quart Round French Ovens in “Caribbean” color.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “Julia’s Boeuf Bourguinon”

  1. Grace September 13, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Um…where is my invitation to dinner?! This looks amazing and you’ve totally inspired me to give it a whirl one of these days. In the meantime, may I be one of your lucky guinea pigs? 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Julia’s Boeuf Bourguinon « Gypsy Rhapsody -- Topsy.com - September 14, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gypsy Rhapsody, Gypsy Rhapsody. Gypsy Rhapsody said: Julia's Boeuf Bourguinon http://wp.me/pXkO1-8S […]

Leave a Reply

