If you use personal care products, click here.

21 Jul

Do we really know what goes into the personal care products we use everyday? Some claim make-up, deodorants, lotions and shampoos — including baby products — are made of highly toxic chemicals and the FDA isn’t doing much about it.

A couple of months ago, my father sent me an e-mail with a list of lipstick brands that were poisoned with lead, thus causing lip cancer in women. I thought the e-mail was just another annoying scam and ignored it. I seldom wear lipstick anyway. Scratch that, I chose to ignore the email simply because I don’t want to believe that the companies whose products are supposed to make us look prettier are actually killing us. Now I understand what’s wrong with that lipstick that makes my lips burn every time I wear it.

Cancer, reproductive and neurological damage are just a few of the perils of today’s toxic cosmetics as explained by Annie Leonard, author of the book The Story of Stuff .

Watch the video below, The Story of Cosmetics, where Leonard explains what’s wrong with our personal care products.

Scary, huh? I guess this means we should migrate to organic, toxin-free cosmetics, too.

Now, I don’t want to use this forum for political discussion, but if you’re interested in learning more about what legislators are doing about this issue, read this blog post from Time Magazine.

3 Responses to “If you use personal care products, click here.”

  1. Lydia July 25, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    def. scary!! and to think we use all those products every day probably more than once! i forwarded the video to my mom and sister!
    thank you for posting it.!
    I really enjoyed the post!

    • gypsyrhapsody July 25, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by, Lydia! 🙂

  2. Java August 2, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Creepy! I don’t wear lipstick but I’m interested in this. I’ve bought some Natura products and they’re OK– at least they’re eco-friendly and they seem not to use toxic chemicals in their elaboration

Leave a Reply

