Man v. Food: Gluttony at its best

12 Jun

Travel Channel.com

I rarely have a problem with shows on TV. Even if they are not my favorite shows and I disagree with the messages they convey, I won’t make a big deal out of it.

But one show I have a serious problem with is Travel Channel’s Man v. Food. First, I have a hard time finding food in industrial quantities appetizing – and I’ve been told I can eat like a truck driver. Second, why are TV producers in the U.S. presenting gluttony as something worthy of praise?

Don’t get me wrong, I love food and I love eating. I think everyone should enjoy the pleasure that food brings, whether its fried, steamed, grilled or poached. But please, everything in moderation.

Funny fact: the show is sponsored by Zantac.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses to “Man v. Food: Gluttony at its best”

  1. Andrew June 14, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    I like fooood, but not too much. This guy is eating for the fame, but I think he is doing a huge disservice to people by making it seem OK.

  2. Cristina Michele Pina September 8, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    You know I never watch reality TV and I came across this bc Mike was watching it, so I was like great- another Danny (homeboy loved the food network) but I was very entertained bc he is actually pretty witty, his jokes made me laugh out loud and I saw one where he did a challenge in Puerto Rico and he lost! My favorite show on the food network will always be Iron Chef! HOW DO THEY COME UP WITH THOSE THINGS! Lol it’s Brilliant those ppl… Ay, I’m hungry now.. and I hope Danny nor Mike see this blog haha

    • Cristina Michele Pina September 8, 2010 at 1:26 am #

      … and yes, I think he is a total glutton but sadly most ppl in America when it comes to food are.. I was merely entertained with his one liners- you have to admit the guy has good jokes!!

Leave a Reply

