What I call Quiche Lorraine

11 Jun

My interpretation of Quiche Lorraine

I wanted a quick lunch today, something that didn’t require standing in front of the stove for too long, but yet something a little bit more sophisticated than a sandwich. I’ve been craving quiche lorraine for a couple of days now, so I went with it. I was lazy and didn’t make my own buttery, flaky crust for this recipe and instead went with a store-bought ready-to-bake crust in a pan. Hey, don’t judge.

I baked it in my toaster/convection oven so as to conserve some energy and it worked just fine. As you can see in the picture, my slice of quiche is a bit browner that the traditional piece of quiche. I like it this way. But, if you’d rather go for the paler, more traditional-looking quiche the you might want to check on it before the timer goes off in your oven.

I know it doesn’t look perfect. But hey, it was delicious,quick, easy to make and it hit the spot. Did I mention that I was sharing the kitchen with my sister as I made this?  Not to mention that she hates eggs, so she wasn’t in the happiest of moods.

Me: “I’m making quiche for lunch. Would you like a piece”

My sister: “Ugh, no. That is way to ‘eggy’ for me. I’ll cook pasta for myself.”

Quiche Lorraine
Makes 1 9-inch pie

Ingredients

1  9-inch single crust pie
1 cup of bacon, diced
1 cup shredded Swiss or Gruyere cheese
1/3 cup minced onion
4 eggs
1/2 cup heavy cream
3/4 teaspoon  kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon round black pepper
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Bake pie crust as directed. Be careful not to let it brown too much or you’ll end up with charred crust by the end.

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Throw bacon in a skillet and fry over medium heat until crispy. Remove from pan, transfer to a plate lined with paper towel and pat gently with another piece of paper towel.

Sprinkle finely diced onions, cheese and bacon to bottom of pie crust.

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, heavy cream, salt, pepper, sugar and cayenne pepper. Pour mixture into pie crust.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes until a knife or toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. If edges are becoming too dark and the pie still needs a few minuted in the oven, cover edges with aluminum foil to prevent them from burning. Allow quiche to rest for about 10 minutes before cutting into pieces.

Bon appétit!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Responses to “What I call Quiche Lorraine”

  1. Pessioptimist June 11, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Im including a ton of your food in my blog 🙂

  2. Ivy June 11, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Oh my…mind you, i just came from lunch but this posting just made my mouth water 🙂

  3. Elinor June 11, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    yummmmmmmmmy… i love quiche but please write more about fashion…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention What I call Quiche Lorraine « Gypsy Rhapsody -- Topsy.com - June 11, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Former Fashion Gypsy, Fashion Gypsy. Fashion Gypsy said: What I call Quiche Lorraine @ https://gypsyrhapsody.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/quiche-lorraine/ […]

Leave a Reply

