Archive | 5:28 pm

Deviled Eggs & The Rest is History

8 Apr

deviled eggs

My only memory of deviled eggs dates back to a soirée hosted by one of my most esteemed history professors in college prior to his return to London. It was quite a treat actually, having deviled eggs for the first time in the kitchen of the historian who authored Near a Thousand Tables: A History of Food, Felipe Fernández-Armesto. I experienced a bit of sensory overload that night compliments of the rich, mildly piquant deviled eggs and an engaging conversation with a very charming educator.  

I’ve wanted to make deviled eggs myself for a while and found Easter brunch to be the perfect opportunity for it. These make a rather elegant appetizer and can be made with ingredients usually found in one’s kitchen. I can tell you that after researching deviled eggs recipes online, I came up with my very own using what I had in my kitchen. No biggie.

I wonder what Prof. Fernández-Armesto has to say about the alleged Roman origins of deviled eggs and the variations of this dish across cultures.

A big Thank You to my brother for lending his photography skills for this blog post. He also made sure no deviled egg was left behind at the table.

deviled eggs 

Historic Deviled Eggs

6 large eggs
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1 tbsp organic german mustard
1/2 tsp Spanish sweet paprika
1/4 tsp Kosher salt
1/4 tsp fresh, crushed pepper
For garnish:  sweet paprika and green onions

Start by boiling the eggs until the yolks are hard. I recommend visiting Egg Watchers to use a fun and accurate timer for boiling perfect eggs. Once done, run your eggs under cold water, gently crack the shells and peel them. Allow the eggs to cool before cutting them lengthwise.

Carefully remove the egg yolks by using a small spoon, place them in a mixing bowl and arrange the egg whites in a serving platter. Using a fork, mash the egg yolks and add the remaining ingredients. Mix everything together using a whisk or a fork until all ingredients are well incorporated. For a creamier consistency, add more mayonnaise and adjust seasoning to taste.

Transfer the egg yolk filling to a pastry piping bag and fill the egg white “shells”. Garnish with sweet paprika and chopped green onions. Keep them refrigerated until ready to serve.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.